What number do I call to reach someone at the Sheriff’s Office if it is not an emergency?
(828) 697-4596 After hours and weekends, this number is forwarded to the Communications Center. Please do not call 911 to request phone numbers for County or State agencies. Use 411 or you may also check our frequently requested numbers page on this website.
How do I get information on subpoenas, evictions, divorce summons and civil summons?
Contact the Civil Process Division at (828) 697-4596 ext. 4126
How, When and Where can I get fingerprints for employment requirements or an ID for my child?
Fingerprinting is done by volunteers on Tuesdays from 9:00 am until Noon (Please arrive by 11:45am) and on Thursdays from 1:00 pm to 4:00 pm (Please arrive by 3:45pm).
*DO NOT fill out fingerprint forms even if your employer told you to do so.
*DO NOT sign the forms.
*DO NOT fold the forms as they will be run through a computer printer.
*Have a Driver's License or other government issued picture Identification. If your ID does not have your
current address on it, you must have a utility bill, official letter written to you at your new address or other
acceptable document with your name and current address.
*Have the name and full address of your employer if the prints are for employment purposes.
*Have $10 in cash or check payable to the Henderson Co. Sheriff's Office (HCSO). Payment is not necessary
for Housing Authority applicants. No Credit cards accepted.
*Make sure your hands are clean and free of lotion.
*Child ID cards (14 years of age and younger) require an appointment and are done at no charge.
Please call (828) 697-4596 extension 4128 Tuesday from 9am-Noon for an appointment.
How do I obtain a copy of an incident report for my insurance company?
Come to the Sheriff’s Office at 100 North Grove Street and ask for a copy of the incident. There is No Charge for a copy of an incident report. You may contact Nevelyn McCall, Records Administrator at (828) 694-2713 for further information. Click here to email our Records Administrator, Nevelyn McCall.
How can I make a request for extra patrol in my neighborhood?
There is a form on this website that you can fill out online, or you can print it and Fax it to: (828) 697-4759. You may also call (828) 697-4596 for an extra patrol request. Click here to access the form.
How do I get a background check?
To obtain a local criminal background check, contact the Henderson County Clerk of Court, 200 North Grove Street Suite 163, Hendersonville. (828) 697-4851. For further information go to the North Carolina Court System Website.
What are the office hours for the Administration and Civil Process Divisions?
Monday – Friday 8am-5pm.
Administration (828) 697-4596
Civil Process (828) 697-4596 ext. 4126
How do I check to see if there is a warrant on me or check for warrant service?
(828) 697-4596 ext. 4600
How can I get information on Sex Offenders in Henderson County?
Contact Cpl. Pat Redden at (828) 697-4596 ext. 4325 or go to the NC Sex Offenders Web Site.
Persons applying for a pistol permit must be:
- A Henderson County, NC resident for 6 months
- Must be 21 Years of Age
- Aware that a complete criminal record check will be completed on you
- Must possess a valid North Carolina Driver’s License
According to NC General Statute 14-404(f), the Sheriff’s Office must issue or deny the request for the permit within 30 days. Payment must be made with exact change ($5 charge per permit), or by check made payable to the Henderson County Sheriff’s Office.
A pistol permit shall be denied for any applicant who does not meet the necessary age and residency requirement and shall be denied for the following persons:
- One who is under indictment or has been convicted of a felony
- One who is a fugitive from justice
- One who is an unlawful user or addicted to any unlawful or narcotic drug
- One who has been adjudicated incompetent or has been committed to any mental institution
- One who is an alien or unlawfully in the United States
- One who has been discharged from the armed forces under dishonorable conditions
- One who has been a U.S. Citizen, has renounced his/her citizenship
- One who is subject to a domestic violence protective order
- One who after due investigation, the Sheriff in his sole discretion, is unable to satisfy himself as to the good moral character of the applicant
The following are examples, but are not all inclusive, of incidents that may disqualify an applicant from receiving a purchase permit:
- Misdemeanor convictions for assault and/or threatening behavior
- Convictions for fraud
- Weapons related convictions
- Convictions of DWI within the past three years
***Please DO NOT complete an application if you do not meet the requirements listed above or if you are ineligible based on NC General Statute***
Questions should be directed to Administrative Assistant Cheryl Griffin at
How do I apply for a Carry Concealed Weapon Permit?
1. You must complete the Firearms Safety Course first. (NOTE: For CCW RENEWALS ONLY-After January 2009, the Sheriff no longer requires the Firearms Safety Course for CCW Renewals.)
2. After completion of the course, you must call to schedule an appointment for the application process. You must make an appointment with Sgt. Debi Ward (694-2708) or Carey Larned (694-2741).
3. "At the time of your appointment" you will complete a packet of materials necessary for the application process. You must bring the following to your appointment:
a. A Firearms Safety Training Course Certificate as mandated by the State of NC (no longer required for CCW Renewals)
b. A ninety dollar ($90) application fee in the form of cash (exact change), check, or a money order payable to the “Henderson County Sheriff’s Office”
c. A valid North Carolina drivers license The name and address on your license must agree with the name and address on your application.
Henderson County Sheriff's Office
100 North Grove Street | Hendersonville, North Carolina 28792
Administration Hours: Monday - Friday 8:00am - 5:00pm