Looking For..?
Department Banner


Read the Draft East Flat Rock Community Plan

View the Draft Maps

Draft Plan Status:

The East Flat Rock Community Plan Advisory Committee has completed the Draft Plan for the East Flat Rock Community. The Henderson County Planning Board is reviewing the Draft Plan and will make a recommendation to the Henderson County Board of Commissioners. The Board of Commissioners will adopt the Draft Plan before any recommendations are implemented. Part of these recommendations include rezoning portions of the East Flat Rock area (See Map of Proposed Zoning Recommendations). These zoning changes would be implemented at a future date and notification would be sent to affected property owners. The Planning Board is seeking input on the proposed zoning recommendations and the Draft Plan before making its recommendation to the Board of Commissioners. Written comments will be accepted via email to planning@hendersoncountync.org or by mail to the Planning Department at 100 N. King Street; Hendersonville, NC 28792

The Planning Board will discuss the Draft Plan at its meeting on November 16th at 5:30 PM in the King Street Meeting Room located at 100 N. King Street, Hendersonville, NC


East Flat Rock Community Plan Advisory Committee

The committee, appointed by the Board of Commissioners, consists of 12 persons including 9 individuals that live, operate a business, or own property within the East Flat Rock Community Planning Area Boundary. The Board of Commissioners also appointed a liaison from the Henderson County Planning Board and an ex-officio member from each of the municipalities that neighbor the planning area (City of Hendersonville and Village of Flat Rock) to serve as a representative of their respective municipality.

The purpose of the committee is to implement the recommendations of the Henderson County 2020 Comprehensive Plan by working with planning staff to develop and recommend a community-specific comprehensive plan for the East Flat Rock Community that outlines the future goals of the area as related to land use and development, community facilities, agriculture, economic development, housing, transportation, access management, etc. Meetings will typically fall on the 2nd Tuesday of every month, unless otherwise noted.

For more information about the community planning process, please contact the Planning Department at 697-4819, email: planning@hendersoncountync.org, or click East Flat Rock Community Plan Advisory Committee Charter.

For a map of the East Flock Community Planning Area Boundary, Click here.

East Flat Rock Plan Advisory Committee Members:

Chip Gould- Co-Chair

Deborah Merker- Co-Chair

Marilyn Gordon- Planning Board Liason

Nancy Hill Westall

Larry David Ray

Rickman Lee Holbert

Andrew W. Hord

Donald Neal Jones

David Scott Moreno

Sarah Hoffert

Brian Pahle- Hendersonville Representative

Keith Kennedy- Village of Flat Rock Representative