Looking For..?
Department Banner




board of health

James Crafton, Chairperson | Robyn Bryson, Vice-Chairperson

Board of Health

The Board of Health is appointed by the Henderson County Board of Commissioners and operates as the governing body of the Department of Public Health. The Board sets policies and procedures and establishes
rules and ordinances that enhances and protects the public health of Henderson County. The Board plays
a key role in the budgetary process and future plans of the department. North Carolina has 85 boards of
health even though there are 100 counties in the state. Several districts exist as multi-county health departments, and each has one governance board.

Regular Meeting

When: Tuesday, March 13, 2018, at 6:00 p.m.

Where: Board Room of the Department of Public Health | Map

The Board of Health generally meets the second Tuesday of each month. The meetings are at 6:00 p.m. at the Department of Public Health and are open to the public. The Board may cancel regular meetings and may also elect to hold special meetings in accordance with NC Open Meetings Law. Workshops and conferences may be scheduled throughout the year. To verify Board meeting schedules, please call (828) 694-6036.

Henderson County Department of Public Health believes it is the right of all citizens to participate in public meetings and programs at the agency. Free assistance is available for all persons with disabilities who need auxiliary aid. Those needing assistance should contact the agency at (828) 692-4223 (press "0" for the operator) at least 48 hours prior to the meeting or program.

Meetings are usually held in the Board Room of the Department of Public Health (directions and bus service).

If the Classroom is used, it can be accessed through the "Immunizations" entrance on the southwest side of the building.


The Board of Health consists of 11 members selected by Henderson County Board of Commissioners. The Board must have representation from the following professions: pharmacist, physician, dentist, registered nurse, engineer, commissioner, optometrist, veterinarian, as well as three members representing the general public. The 2017-2018 Board of Health members are:

  • James Crafton, Engineer, Chairperson
  • Robyn Sutton Bryson, Pharmacist, Vice-Chairperson
  • Bo Caldwell, Public Member
  • Robert Duffey, M.D., Physician
  • David Ellis, MD, FACOG, Public Member
  • Graham Fields, Public Member
  • Bill Lapsley, Commissioner
  • Leslie Leidecker, D.V.M., Veterinarian
  • Craig Poole, O.D., Optometrist
  • Pete Richards, D.D.S., Dentist
  • Barbara Stanley, R.N., Registered Nurse


Requests for copies of the minutes from past Board of Health meetings can be made to Cathy Nicholson at 1200 Spartanburg Highway, Suite 100, Hendersonville, NC, 28792 or call (828) 694-6036.

top of page




Appointments | Directions | Contact Us | Mission Statement | Notice of Privacy | Disclaimer

Department of Public Health • 1200 Spartanburg Highway, Suite 100 • Hendersonville, NC 28792 • (828) 692-4223

Last updated February 16, 2018