STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA                                          BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

COUNTY OF HENDERSON                                                                                  JUNE 19, 2001


The Henderson County Board of Commissioners met for a special called meeting at 3:00 p.m. in the Commissioners= Conference Room of the Henderson County Office Building at 100 North King Street, Hendersonville, North Carolina.


Those present were:  Chairman Bill Moyer, Vice-Chair Marilyn Gordon, Commissioner Grady Hawkins, Commissioner Don Ward, Commissioner Charlie Messer, County Manager David E. Nicholson, Finance Director J. Carey McLelland, Assistant to the County Manager/Budget Analyst Selena Coffey, and Public Information Officer Chris S. Coulson.


Absent was: Clerk to the Board Elizabeth W. Corn.  Mr. Nicholson took notes for the preparation of these minutes.



Chairman Moyer called the meeting to order and stated the purpose of the meeting was to review the proposed budget.



Selena Coffey reviewed the following departments and funds with the Board:


Information Technology


Emergency Management

Property Addressing

Fire Services


Risk Management

Emergency Medical Services

Criminal Justice Partnership Act

Rescue Squad

Forest Service

Soil & Water


Cooperative Extension

Land Records

HOME Program

Economic Development

Home & Community Care Block Grant

Youth Programs


Rural Operating Transportation Program

Juvenile Justice Grants

Veterans Service

Public Library

Debt Service



School Capital Reserve Fund

Fire District Fund

Special School District Fund

Revaluation Reserve Fund

Travel & Tourism Fund

Community Development Block Grant

E-911 Fund

Capital Projects Fund

Schools Capital Project Fund

Solid Waste Enterprise Fund

Cane Creek Water and Sewer District Fund

Mud Creek Water and Sewer District Fund

Justice Academy Sewer Fund

Self Insurance Fund


The Board agreed to consider establishing an additional budget workshop at Wednesday=s mid-month Commissioners= meeting.


Commissioner Hawkins made the motion to adjourn the meeting at approximately 4:30 p.m.  All voted in favor and the motion carried.






                                                                                                                                                              Elizabeth W. Corn, Clerk to the Board                      William L. Moyer, Chairman