††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† MINUTES


STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA†††††† ††††††††††† ††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

COUNTY OF HENDERSON†††††††††† ††††††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† ††JANUARY 12, 2006††††


The Henderson County Board of Commissioners met for a special called meeting at 8:30 a.m. in the Commissioners' Conference Room of the Henderson County Office Building.


Those present were:Chairman Bill Moyer, Vice-Chairman Charlie Messer, Commissioner Larry Young, Commissioner Chuck McGrady, and Clerk to the Board Elizabeth W. Corn.


Commissioner Shannon Baldwin arrived approx. 8:45 a.m.



Chairman Moyer called the meeting to order and welcomed all in attendance. He explained that the purpose of this meeting was for the Board to go into closed session for personnel reasons.



Chairman Moyer informed the Board that he had gotten a call from Eva Ritchey with a complaint that the way the voting machine process is set up that there will not be sufficient time to have adequate public input with respect to the decision on the voting machines, since our meeting is during the day and most people can come to evening meetings.With the schedule as it is and with the decision having to be made by January 20, he didnít know what alternative we have. He just wanted to communicate with the Board that he had gotten this complaint.


Commissioner McGrady requested that the Chairman communicate to Ms. Ritchey that there is a public meeting/showing of the various voting machines this Friday.



Commissioner McGrady made the motion for the Board to go into closed session as allowed pursuant to NCGS 143-318.11(a)(6) for personnel reasons. All voted in favor and the motion carried.


The Board will not return to open session.






††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† ††††††††††† ††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† †††††††††††

Elizabeth W. Corn, Clerk to the Board†† †††††††††† †††††††††† William L. Moyer, Chairman